Connect with us


Fashion Gala | 1er MAI and NICO among the award-winning designers



Eleven fashion designers and entrepreneurs were rewarded at the second edition of the mmode gala, which was held Thursday evening at the Society for Technological Arts.

Ysaline Lannes 1er MAI and Nicolas Bilodeau from NICO were particularly praised for their work during this event intended to support and propel the rising stars of Quebec fashion.

Called the Distinction Awards, these awards, presented by the Metropolitan Fashion Cluster in partnership with several companies in the fashion sector, are accompanied by grants totaling $105,000.

Designer Ysaline Lannes, whose The Press painted the portrait last week, won the highest honour, the President’s Favorite Distinction award. A graduate in fashion design from Cégep Marie-Victorin, the Montrealer creates unique and highly original pieces from clothes that have already been worn, mainly jeans. Inspired by street fashion and work uniforms, she also incorporates fine craft techniques into her upcycled pieces.

The Public Favorite Distinction award, which, as its name suggests, is subject to popular vote, was awarded to Nicolas Bilodeau, designer behind the NICO brand. The man who also studied fashion design at Marie-Victorin launched his high-end ready-to-wear brand in 2015, alongside his nursing career. Its unisex fall-winter collection, unveiled last September, combines comfort and elegance with a pretty touch of royal blue.


Nicolas Bilodeau, winner of the Public Favorite Distinction award at the 2e mmode gala edition

Nine other designers and companies were honored during this evening, namely Alexandre Desabrais and Samuel Leroux from Solios (Distinction Coup de coeur du jury award), Marie-Josianne Séguin from SegSea Beachwear (Distinction Entrepreneure femme award), Annette Nguyen from Petit Shwap Club (Circularity Distinction award), Mahrzad Lari from Wide the Brand (Diversity and Inclusion Distinction award), Niki Jessup and Corinne Bourget from Atelier HOTELMOTEL (Fur and Leather Entrepreneurial Distinction award), Markantoine Lynch-Boisvert from MRKNTN (Distinction in American market), Léa Deschamps from Campus Notre-Dame-de-Foy (Michèle Boulanger-Bussière scholarship, LaSalle college) as well as Antoine Bolduc from Atypic and Danielle Déry and Gabriel Gosselin from Perlimpinpin (Distinction in growth mode award ).

Elliot Lifson, vice-president of Peerless Clothing and member of the board of directors of mmode, received an honorary distinction for his involvement with the next generation.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *