Connect with us


Parker in the Hall of Fame?



Tony Parker is on the prestigious list of basketball players nominated to be inducted into the Basketball Hall of Fame, alongside superstars like Pau Gasol, Dirk Nowitzki and Dwyane Wade.

After Tim Duncan in 2020 and Manu Ginobili, Tony Parker in 2023? San Antonio’s “Big Three,” who won four NBA championships together, may well be reformed in the Hall of Fame. While the Virgin Islands player and the Argentinian have already been inducted into the prestigious Basketball Hall of Fame, located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the French leader is now eligible to join them, since he must have been retired for three years. years to be. However, Tony Parker stopped in 2019, after a season in Charlotte and 17 with the Spurs, and he is part of the long list of candidates eligible for the Hall of Fame unveiled on Wednesday. With four championship rings, an MVP trophy from the 2007 Finals, six All Star Game selections and three selections in the second major five of the season, the former French international, who celebrated his 40th birthday in May, obviously has his square. But the ball is not in his court. The finalists will be announced on February 17 during the All Star Game weekend in Utah, and the names of the lucky winners will be revealed on April 1 during the NCAA Finals in Houston. This will require obtaining 18 votes from the 24 members of the honorary committee. The induction ceremony will be held on August 12.

A cuvée that could be extraordinary

But the competition will be tough for Tony Parker, since among the other eligible basketball players, we find the 2011 champion with Dallas Dirk Nowitzki, the triple champion 2006, 2012 and 2013 with Miami Dwyane Wade or the double NBA champion 2009 and 2010 with the Lakers Pau Gasol, three of Parker’s biggest opponents during his nearly two decades in the NBA. His legendary coach in San Antonio Gregg Popovich is also nominated to enter the Hall of Fame. On the women’s side, there is also former player, Popovich’s assistant and now Las Vegas coach Becky Hammon, or former French international Jacky Chazalon, already a member of the FIBA ​​Hall of Fame since 2009. Four basketball players have been inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2022, six in 2021, two in 2020 and seven in 2019, so there is no limit and Tony Parker can believe it for 2023. Otherwise, he will have to wait another year or more.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *